I’m joining the party

I have decided to join the National Novel Writing Month this November.

To “win,” a writer must complete at least 50,000 words between November 1 and 30. I’ve had a book I’ve wanted to write for years but never had the time. Now I’m going to MAKE the time.

For this event, I need to turn off the inner editor — difficult, since bad grammar and spelling are like fingernails on a chalkboard. I need to tell myself that the writing doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to get done. As many author friends have pointed out, you can’t revise what you haven’t written.

So I plan to blog more frequently to keep the momentum going. I’m shocked that my last post on this blog was in September 2011!

My NaNoWriMo title is Learning Curves. Gaby Milano is a laid-off newspaper writer who now does computer research and office work for a Newport Beach private eye. The PI specializes in sending women undercover to see if a suspected cheating husband will, in fact, cheat. Michael Petersen is a young, successful bank vice president whose handsome face hides a troubled past. When he discovers insider crimes at the bank, he’s forced to flee from security agents and Gaby gets caught in the chase. She’s curvy in a size-0 world, and he has to learn the proper way to treat a lady.

The idea for this story came from an advice-column letter I read several years ago.  I’ll blog about that in the future.

It’s NaNoWriMo minus six days. My fingers are getting itchy.

Leave a Reply

